This lesson is far to important to leave off at one day, should be  followed  everyday.  Yesterday, I was impressed at the descriptions of my late neighbor as an honorable man.  This was not the word used, but all the descriptions and imparted life lessons left no doubt in my mind that this was an Honorable Man.

I am once again going through “the Love Dare” book, all quotes unless noted are from this book.  I can not say enough about how wonderful this book is.  I appreciate the wisdom it contains and the very doable “dares” it leads the reader through.  If you are as honest as insight allows and approach this book with a willingness to grow, you will grow, and it may restore your marriage.  It may not restore it also, but most importantly in my opinion, it will restore your relationship with God.

In 1Peter 3.7 it says: ” Live with your wives in an understanding way…and show her honor as a fellow heir of the grace of life.”

“To honor someone means to give them respect and high esteem, to treat them as being special and of great worth.  When you speak to them, you keep your language clean and understandable,  you are courteous and polite.  When they speak to you, you take them seriously, giving their words weight and significance.  When they ask you to do something, you accommodate them if at all possible, simply out of respect for who they are.”

I think my wife would agree that one of the major problems in my marriage resulted from my not honoring her.  I can declare my love and her value to me 1,000 times and show dishonor 1 time and all the rest is negated.  Fair?  Yes! Why?  Because if I do not honor my wife on a day to day basis, I am not loving her no matter what I say!

How many times when she was talking to me was I distracted, not giving her full the full attention she deserves?  Did I ever get a clue until now, that by not considering her opinions and giving equal weight in decisions that effected us both, that I was dishonoring her?  I should treat her in light of how much she matters and she should know much she matters by how I treat her.

Being discouraged, I often feel like giving up.  But as pointed out in this book, that’s not the issue with love.  “Love honors even when it is rejected.  Love treats its beloved as special and sacred even when an ungrateful attitude is all you get in return.”  The rejection I am experiencing is not because I honored and loved as I should have, but because I did not.

” ‘ Of all the relationships I have, I will value ours the most.  Of all the things I’m willing to sacrifice, I will sacrifice the most for you.  With all your failures, sins, past mistakes and faults–past and present–I still choose to love and honor you.’  That’s how you create an atmosphere for love to be rekindled.  That’s how you lead your heart to truly love your mate again.  And that’s the beauty of honor. ”

What a wonderful life it could be if  both people were following these principles!

