I feel like I have misrepresented “The Love Dare”.  The book is an excellent journey of 40 days/dares to enrich your marriage.  It presumes being able to speak to your spouse and to directly exercise the “dares”. What you will read in this journey of mine through the book, is a different approach.

This is my third time through the book and at the close of this year I will have spent 1/3 of it going through this book.  As I go through each day, I’ve entered my experience with the dare in the space provided at the end of the chapter.  Now I have a notebook to record my progress or challenge at the end of each day and of also what I share in this blog.

I am frustrated that I cannot directly apply the dares, sometimes to the point of just giving up.  I am honoring my wifes wishes that I do not contact her in any manner.  It is quite possible that I will not get the chance to demonstrate the work God has done, is doing in my life right now, to her.  But I am still motivated to deal with the problems in my life that resulted in the breakdown of my marriage.  So what you may see in some of my posts is more in the form of  “a fearless and honest moral inventory” (Step 4 AA).

The dares in the book are really quite simple.  From, “don’t say anything negative to your spouse today and greet your spouse with a smile and don’t say anything negative to her today.”  Some require work like writing lists of all the positive things you love about your spouse and a separate list of the things you don’t like about your spouse.  I encourage you with all the serious I can muster, to be totally honest and pray that God would give you insight into the matters of your heart and the muddled mess of your perceptions (in case you’re like me).

From the back cover of  “The Love Dare”:

Unconditional Love is eagerly promised at weddings, but rarely practiced in real life.  As a result, romantic hopes are often replaced with disappointment in the home.  But it doesn’t have to stay that way.

The Love Dare is a 40-day challenge for husbands and wives to understand and practice unconditional love.  Whether your marriage is hanging by a thread or healthy and strong, The Love Dare is a journey you need to take.  It’s time to learn the keys to finding true intimacy and developing a dynamic marriage. Take the dare!

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things. LOVE NEVER FAILS.

1 Corinthians 13: 7-8

Please buy a copy of this book and work it.  There is a movie that features The Love Dare, it’s called “Fireproof Your Marriage”.

Feel free to share your experience in the reply section of the posts or email me if it is something you’d rather not have made public @ sbedgewater@gmail.com

Thank you to all who read my blog and God bless you richly!

