I was tested in patience yesterday, not 1 hour after posting my blog.

My stepson texted me and said his Grandmother and family were upset that I was listed as Garrets’ “father”, so he deleted the listing. “Don’t take it personally”, texts Garret. I did take it personal, I helped raise Garret since he was a baby and his contact with his biological father was minimal. I won’t go in to all the particulars, and I understand the sensitive nature of his dilemma. I would have liked to have Garret say, “he raised me, I consider him a father.” Perhaps if I were not facing this divorce, I would have responded differently. Instead I told Garret I took it personal and as a public humiliation. I did tell him later that I responded poorly, asked forgiveness and told him I love him.

Today the reading is on kindness. The LD breaks kindness down into 4 categories, Gentleness, Helpfulness, Willingness and Initiative. Hopefully you will obtain this book and read all the great stuff in it.

The section on Initiative always stands out to me. Be the first to: greet, smile, serve, forgive and don’t require the other to get his or her act together before showing love.

The whole idea of divorce is so anti-Christian, anti-grace and anti-mercy, that it screams to be recognized as such. God does not divorce us, He did not wait for us to “get it together” before forgiving us and making sure we can have right standing with Him. We are the Bride of Christ, where does divorce fit in with this teaching? “Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you”. Ephesians 4.32

The harsh reality is divorce amongst even Christians. Having to deal with the other parents of children now in a combined household is extremely stressful. If there is a parent that is unyielding, uncooperative and spews venom in the mix, it can be hell on earth. Step-parenting can be a thankless job, “the real” parent is primary, even if they are not nice people. “But love in its truest sense is not based on feelings. Rather, love determines to show thoughtful actions even when there seems to be no reward”. The Love Dare.

A reminder to anyone just finding this blog: I am in the process of being divorced from my wife. This divorce is her initiative and in 38 days it will be final. This is my 4th time through The Love Dare book. Aside from my failings, I believe the enemy has won a battle in making sure this marriage is not restored. Christians need to get this teaching in The Love Dare.

