I am still handing out praise of and an occasional copy of “The Love Dare” book. I am convinced more than ever that divorce amongst Christians is wrong. I believe Jesus’s teaching on divorce and the elaboration of those teachings by Paul. I also have discovered faulty “Christian” counsel in this area.

Every Christian I have heard that gives a justification for divorcing their spouse is either a “christianization” of the popular cultures’ counsel or just plain ignorance of the teaching in the Bible. We want to be happy and have peace at all cost. We blame our spouses for our own spiritual failings and think that if we get rid of them and their influence on our life, we will be happy. The problems with this mentality is we are missing the focus of the problem and the solution.

I was my wife’s 3rd husband, she my second wife. We both had affairs on our respective spouses and emotional adultery while married to each other. This is a moral failing, sin on both our parts. My wife tells of her dating experiences before even filing for divorce of me. This is adultery, sin in old fashioned terms. I have continued to pray for my wife and myself in this area, the only thing I can do is be willing to follow God in dealing with my moral failings.

I firmly believe that there is spiritual warfare going on against Christians and their marriages are a battlefield where the enemy is making headway. There are influential “Christian” authors who are downplaying the concept of sin and accountability. Yes we are saved and forgiven all our sins by grace through Jesus Christ, but we are not to continue in sin.

